Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending – Commissioner Announcement

April 24, 2014


After a nationwide search, the Finance Commission of Texas is pleased to announce the selection of Caroline C. Jones as the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending’s Commissioner, effective June 1, 2014. The Department provides consumer protection to Texas consumers through its regulatory oversight of the state savings bank industry, which has aggregate assets of over $10 billion, and the residential mortgage industry, which currently has over 16,000 licensed individuals and companies conducting business in Texas. Ms. Jones will be the ninth person to serve as Commissioner of the Department.

Ms. Jones is currently Deputy Commissioner/General Counsel of the Department. She has been with the Department for six years. Her previous employment includes serving as in-house legal counsel for the Farm Credit Bank of Texas, Guaranty Bank, and DHI Mortgage. She was raised in San Antonio. She received her undergraduate degree from Sophie Newcomb College of Tulane University and her law degree from St. Mary’s University School of Law. Ms. Jones is a graduate of the Governor’s Executive Development Program through the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs and is a graduate of Leadership Austin. Ms. Jones currently serves on the Board of the American Council of State Savings Supervisors.

Ms. Jones succeeds Mr. Douglas B. Foster as Commissioner, who after 29 years with the Department, the last seven of which he served as Commissioner, will be retiring from public service in August.